You can check test prioritization into testomatio and from Jira, to better optimize the order solving issues.

Test Management Sorting Tests by priority

We are all very familiar with the testing principles. One of them talks Exhaustive testing is impossible. Consequently, you have to focus on the parts of testing that are really important to your project. The concept of assigning priorities to test cases helps in this challenge the best. Because priority is used to show how important a test case is in relation to other test cases.

The key benefit of test case prioritization

Set a test case as priority critical to indicate it is the highest priority. Priorities increase understanding of what parts of the software have to test at first. And you should execute each test case from a higher priority or a lower priority.

In test management app effectively developed 5 different priority levels of execution of your testing. Critical being the highest priority.

Priority values are specified:

  • Low
  • Normal
  • High
  • Important
  • Critical

All test cases can be given a priority value, both manual test cases and automated test cases. You can change the priority for any test case in the testing process flow. You can link your test cases with user stories and issue in Jira with prioritization as well. The priority you give to running a test case relates to the priority you will give to fixing different defects.

You can filter and sort by this field when running or managing cases. You can also filter by this when selecting which cases to include in a test suite. Shows the number of test cases, within each test script, that is set to low priority. Using a filter you can see instantly the list of test cases by priorities across a number of test cases. This lists test cases that are assigned to a specific tester.

How decide the priority test case execution

Establishing the right priority for your tests we cant help you decide on the precise priorities for your testing, as this is dependent on the product or application under test. Priority indicates how important a test case is in your context.

We might give you only the recommendation, on how better to set test priorities to achieve more efficiency in quality through test management system.


  • Low – Failure on this test is likely to indicate a trivial problem with the functionality. If time permits it would be nice to run these tests but they need not be completed if the time scales don’t allow (i.e. if this test was carried out and failed it would not stop the product shipping)
  • Normal – Failure on this test is likely to result in loss of functionality that is not critical to a user. This test should be run once and probably need not be run again.
  • High – Failure on this test is likely to result in loss of functionality but there may well be workarounds available. This test should be run only once development in this area of functionality has stabilised.
  • Important failure on this test is likely to results in unacceptable loss of functionality. This test must be run as soon as practicable.
  • Critical failure on this test is likely to result in a loss or corruption of data. This test must be run as soon as practicable and must also be run on the final build.